Mantis Bug Tracker

View Issue Details Jump to Notes ] Issue History ] Print ]
IDProjectCategoryView StatusDate SubmittedLast Update
0010782Dwarf FortressTechnical -- Saving/Loadingpublic2018-06-05 15:402018-06-07 07:56
Reporter0cra_tr0per 
Assigned ToLoci 
PrioritynormalSeveritycrashReproducibilityalways
StatusresolvedResolutionwon't fix 
PlatformPCOSWindows 10OS VersionVersion 1803
Product Version0.44.10 
Target VersionFixed in Version 
Summary0010782: Deleting worlds while the game is running and loading them BSODs your computer
DescriptionI had the wonderful idea to launch DF, open the world folder to delete old worlds while still running DF, then try loading a now-removed world in fortress mode, which resulted in my computer freezing to the point where the power button wouldn't work.

The worlds in question were completely vanilla.
Steps To ReproduceIMPORTANT: DO NOT CLOSE DWARF FORTRESS BEFORE YOU LOAD THE NOW-DELETED WORLD! THIS WILL SET YOU BACK TO STEP 1!

1: Launch DF
2: Create a new world, or use a world you don't want anymore for step 3
3: Go into the save folder and delete the world
4: Switch to the Dwarf Fortress window, and attempt to load the world.
5: Watch your computer itself crash while Dwarf Fortress attempts to take the data from a nonexistent folder, and overloads the system while doing so in a fruitless manner. For me, pressing the power button on my PC did not work.
6: After you're done admiring the crashed system, unplug the computer before plugging it back in.
Additional InformationI advise saving unsaved work before reproducing.
Tagscrash
Attached Files

- Relationships

-  Notes
(0038434)
PatrikLundell (reporter)
2018-06-06 03:26

You claim this always happens, which implies you have repeated the process several times?

I've renamed and removed saves while DF is running and then tried to load them, which just resulted in failure. I just repeated it, and the behavior differed between using DFHack and vanilla: in vanilla DF went from the save select screen to the main screen, while DFHack remained on the game select screen, probably because the plugin allowing you to rename the save failed.

I'm using Windows 10.1.
(0038436)
Loci (manager)
2018-06-06 14:40

I was also unable to reproduce this. However, even if it was 100% reproducible, most software behaves poorly when you intentionally yank file structures out from under it. Since the problem requires the user to willfully sabotage the game, and the outcome is fairly benign (as opposed to, say, corrupting the disk), I don't really see any need to modify the behavior.
(0038440)
lethosor (manager)
2018-06-07 07:56

I have also done something like this several times (usually renaming), but have never had it affect my system. I'd say this is almost certainly a system-specific issue, or one that happened to be caused by some other factors.

- Issue History
Date Modified Username Field Change
2018-06-05 15:40 0cra_tr0per New Issue
2018-06-05 15:42 0cra_tr0per Tag Attached: crash
2018-06-05 15:42 0cra_tr0per Issue Monitored: 0cra_tr0per
2018-06-05 15:42 0cra_tr0per Issue End Monitor: 0cra_tr0per
2018-06-06 03:26 PatrikLundell Note Added: 0038434
2018-06-06 14:40 Loci Note Added: 0038436
2018-06-06 14:40 Loci Status new => resolved
2018-06-06 14:40 Loci Resolution open => won't fix
2018-06-06 14:40 Loci Assigned To => Loci
2018-06-07 07:56 lethosor Note Added: 0038440


Copyright © 2000 - 2010 MantisBT Group
Powered by Mantis Bugtracker